Lucky Corner

 

This week my soul and my stomach needing something truly amazing.  I’m stressed and stretched ridiculously thin this semester…

Something full of love, and flavor… something soupy…PHO!!!!! Yaaaaas.


So I called one of my buds and to Lucky Corner we ventured.  I had considered pho over and over again, apparently if you want pho in Frederick, Lucky Corner is the place to be.

thaitea
Thai Tea

 

We were seated promptly and our server came right away.  First up on my mind, Thai Tea nectar of the gods is a: the best hangover cure ever, b: caffeinated as fuck, and c: deliciously creamy and sweet in the most magical way possible. MMMMMMMMMMM!

For my app, Duck Pot Stickers (Vit Dumpling).  Seriously flipping amazing: Asian Style Steamed Dumplings filled with Minced Duck, Cilantro, and topped with Cilantro Soy Dipping Sauce.  Shut the front door, no seriously…close your mouth.  You’re drooling.

 

duckpotsticker
Duck Pot Stickers

My lunch mate chose the Summer Rolls (Goi Cuon): Rice Paper wrapped shrimp, pork, vermicelli noodle, chopped lettuce, mint leaf, cucumber and bean sprout.  Served with peanut sauce.  They looked so dang good and my talky fellow New Jersian said not one word whilst she munched.

summerroll
Summer Rolls

Finally, it was Pho time.  My Hood College Classmates told me this was the best place in which to indulge my craving, they were not wrong.  Not one single bit.  I ordered the Pho Tai, which was all the normal numminess of Pho with a slices of rare eye round steak to be cooked only in the blissful broth before me.

pho
Pho
img_9562
Toppings

If you’ve never had Pho, know that it is a bitch to make.  At my house, we start by roasting oxtail for the broth on the day before we intend to dine upon it.  The next morning, a base of oxtail, anise, and ginger among other things it simmered on low.  By evening, we are ready to prep our rice noodles, cilantro, basil, shaved (raw) steak, hoisin sauce, and siracha.
The meal preps out quick at this point.  We put the kids’ bowls together first so their meat can cook a little longer.  After we load up our bowls and dress them according to our tastes, we sit and we savor.

 

 

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. sopheekay says:

    I’ve always heard great things about Lucky Corner but have never tried. I know where I’ll be dining this next weekend! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

